The Hard Stuff

Let me start of with a little disclaimer:  I love all people!  Really, I do…I honestly love everyone, regardless of who you are or what you’ve ever done.  I can sit here today and tell you that if I were in a room with a convicted murder, who confessed to the crime, and someone walked in and said one of you must die…I would take that person’s place.  I realize that might be a bit extreme, but I want to make sure that’s clear.  I love you!  I believe in second chances and saving grace!  I am not here to judge because I have enough to be judged on myself.  I know that when I stand before the God of the universe…there will be a few things we are going to have to talk about that I am ashamed of.  We are all human and we are all living in this world together.
 
Now, let’s get real y’all!  You know I’m here to be real.  It’s my conviction to be completely honest in all that I do.  I spent most of my life being a complete sugar-coater.  I never wanted to offend or disappoint anyone.  I am an oldest child…first born.  I desire to please others and keep the peace by nature.  However, since I’ve become a mother, God has convicted me about that.  I have been extremely convicted to always speak HIS truth…never my own…or the watered down version of the truth he speaks.  I’ve come to terms that speaking out for Christ will offend others at times, and may even cost me some friendships.  I mean this in the best possible way, but…so be it.  My God always comes first.  My life here is temporary…”like a vapor; here today and gone tomorrow”.  I was created to serve the Lord God Almighty.
 
So, let me go ahead and tell you, I am very disappointed by some decisions made by our government today concerning the biblical definition of marriage vs same-sex marriage.  By no means was this an easy decision for them…I think that is obvious based on the 5-4 vote.  Now before you go getting your feelings hurt, let me tell you…I have gay friends.  Yeah…really…I do.  And I love them!  Do I agree with what they have chosen?  No way!  Do they know that I don’t believe it is right, based on what God states in the bible?  Of course!  I pray fervently for them.  I want everyone to go to heaven!  Is that going to happen?  No.  God tells us this in the bible as well.  However, I love them!  This is the hard stuff, y’all.  No matter who you are and what your beliefs, this is not easy.  It isn’t meant to be easy.  (Thank you sin!)  I could sit here and reference one bible story and verse after another in an attempt to convict those who don’t agree with me…but I won’t.  I don’t feel led to do that.  I do feel led to tell you that you are loved.  Being a Christian is NEVER easy, but is it easier than living a sinful lifestyle?  Oh, yes!  Why?  Because I have Jesus to lean on, trust, rely on, and talk with.  I am promised so much!  In Jesus, my future is bright…no matter what happens!  I am loved…no matter what!  I’ve lived in sin and I’ve lived in Jesus.  I choose Jesus!
 
Honestly, I can’t be too disappointed in the sinful ways of this world.  However, I can be disappointed in Christians today (including me).  What are we doing?  Why are we not taking a harder stance for Christ?  What justice are we doing anyone by being ‘tolerant’ and ‘sugar-coating everything’?  You can not successfully spread the word of God without offending people.  You just can’t!  When we as humans are living in sin, we become offended when someone tells us we are wrong.  Do I get offended by people who tell me I’m crazy for believing so radically in Christ?  No…I know better.  I don’t care what people say in terms of my convictions and beliefs.  Am I offended when fellow “Christians” basically tell me that I can’t expect better of other Christians?  No…that just makes me feel sad.  When are we as Christians going to get our bottoms up off the back row and get serious?  When?  How dare we go to church every Sunday and sing to Christ about following him and standing up for him, and then walk out of those doors doing the same old thing day in and day out!  How dare we continue to play it safe and stay within our comfort zone.  God doesn’t command us to relax and take it easy once we form a relationship with him…he commands us to work!  I feel like we should expect more of each other and hold our brothers and sisters accountable.  We should be backing one another, encouraging one another, and working HARD for Christ!
 
I can’t help but wonder how God feels tonight.  I realize that he knew long ago that this day was coming for us, but I wonder if he still feels disappoint and disgust with us.  I know how I feel, and I can only imagine how he feels.
 
This isn’t easy for me to put out there and discuss, but it needs to be done.  Even if I stand alone, I will always stand for Christ!
 
God Bless!
Leave a Reply

