Social Media War Zone

Holy Moly!  If you haven’t logged into facebook today, consider yourself lucky….and just steer clear for a while.  When the hubs logged in this morning it looked like a full on war zone, one of the 21st century for sure.  If you have been on facebook today, you know exactly what I’m talking about.  For those who don’t, here’s the scoop of what’s going on.  Many people on facebook have changed their profile photos to a red square with a pink equal sign.  Others have changed their photo to a red square with a pink cross.  Some have opted not to partake at all, while others are bombing the newsfeed with quotes, photos, verses, etc.  Here is why:  that red square with a pink equal sign means that the person supports human rights.  Sounds innocent, I know, but in 21st century terms, human rights means gay marriage.  So there appears to be a war going on between gay marriage supporters and their opposition.  I’m sure this social media war is going on all over the internet, not just on facebook.  I can’t tell you that for sure, because I’m not a big tweeter, and haven’t done much internet surfing today.  But you can bet it has spread…quickly.  I have to tell you….I’m not interested in it.  Let me be honest with you here.  I do not believe in gay marriage.  I do not believe it is God’s design for us to be gay, lesbian, homosexual, bi-sexual, etc.  I believe he designed us in his own image, to be man and woman.  For men to be attracted to women and women to men, exclusively.  The end!  However, I believe God created us, giving us free will, meaning we get to make our own choices in life.  Ditto!  You choose to believe what you want, and I do the same.  Yes, I am a christian and strive daily to please God.  That does not give me the right to judge you.  Yes, I am saved, but no I am not perfect and never will be in this life.  I will only become perfect in God’s eyes once I have been judged and enter heaven to live eternally.  I believe every follower of Christ should stand up for what’s right in God’s eyes, and live to be an example.  That does not mean we allowed to judge or condemn anyone to hell/death.  Only God holds that power.  I will be judged just like everyone else, and being I’m not perfect, I feel like I have enough to worry about.  I have no desire to judge your life.  I have enough responsibility on my shoulders in keeping myself and my family in line, and trying to be a Godly example to my daughter.  Do I wish every person would turn from sin and follow Christ?  Of course!!  I love people, and I love God, but I realize that not everyone will choose God.  He knows this….he designed it this way. 
 
So, basically, enough is enough!  Get over it people!  The world will never be in agreement on things, so stop getting your feelings hurt and being vindictive.  Stop fighting and complaining!  If we could all get over ourselves and our own insecurities, we might just be able to make a little progress and make the world a better place.  There will always be someone there to judge you, there will always be someone there who puts you down or makes you feel insecure or wrong.  You make your own choices.  It’s fine to have your own beliefs and opinions, and it’s fine to voice them if you choose to.  I do.  And you can choose to listen to my beliefs, or you can choose to ignore me.  It is your choice, and mine likewise.  So what is the big deal?!  Why do we need to fight?!  Why have this stupid social media war over sexuality?!  Honestly, how ridiculous does that sound?!  Ask yourself that!  Take a step back, and ask yourself.  Shoving your beliefs down someone else’s throat is not the answer.  However, if someone is sharing how they feel/what they believe….they aren’t trying to shove it down your throat.  That’s your own inner issues.  Instead of lashing out and threatening to ‘unfriend’ people, be mature and deal with your issues.  Mature adults can talk about these issues without all this hoopla and bickering. 
 
I realize that some of you may read this and be offended by what I’m saying.  I’m sorry if you are, but it’s my little piece of the world and my beliefs.  I’m not pushing anything on anyone, or making any accusations.  I’m giving my thoughts.  If you don’t like it…sorry.  If you’re mad and offended at my blunt honesty….I hope you can work that out because that is not my goal in writing this.  I am just tired of the world we’ve created.  No one is entitled to anything, and no one is better than anyone else.  When I think something ugly about a person, or think of an ugly word when I slam my finger in a drawer, I am sinning.  My sin is just as big as the murder sitting in jail.  You might think that statement is a bit extreme, but it’s the truth.  Sin is sin in God’s eyes.  But it’s the spoiled attitudes that bring about the social media wars like the one we’ve witnessed today.
 
One thought on “Social Media War Zone

  1. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific web site.

Leave a Reply

