Crazy Schedules, Confessions, & Crying

Happy Tuesday Peeps!!!  I just wanted to drop y’all a quick line.  This is a busy week for the Kees household!  Monday and Wednesday we have Mother’s Day Out, today was MOPS, an awesome play-date with friends, and library day, Wednesday at MDO we have our Easter party and egg hunt, Thursday we have errands and t-ball practice, Coach has games five days this week, and on Friday we leave to head out of town for the weekend for softball.  Whew!  And who could forget about lovely school?!  With such a crazy schedule this week we are doing our learning on the run and getting creative.  Today Sassy picked out a phonics DVD from the library, so as soon as we got home we put it in and got to work.  She loved it!  She went through the whole thing!!  This week we’ve really focused on reading practice.  I love listening to Sassy read!  She gets better and better at it each and every time.
 
Okay, so I have to confess that I was a terrible mother this year.  I forgot St. Patty’s Day!!  Yup, you heard me….I totally forgot.  I crashed and burned.  At church on Sunday my family noticed that I was not wearing green.  Immediately, my head fell.  I had forgotten.  I checked over Sassy quickly before she ran into her Sunday School room.  Luckily, her bow had green polka dots on it.  Whew!  I really didn’t want her to get pinched all because her mama forgot about the holiday.  I was feeling pretty rotten about it for a little while, but then I began wondering why it’s such a big deal anyhow.  Frankly, I did good to get out of bed, get dressed, and get to church this past Sunday.  The evening before Coach had two softball games that ended up landing us there for eight hours.  Eight hours of excitement and sunshine.  We had a good time, but this mama is WHITE….so yeah, I got a tad toasted on top of my exhaustion.  This lead to my forgetting about green day.  I had planned on doing green pancakes and milk for breakfast, and ensuring that each member of the family be dressed in green.  I failed at all of the above.  But hey…so what!  We all survived a green-less St. Patty’s Day just fine.  So moms, I’m hear to tell you that it is okay to forget about the small holidays.  It’s okay if you don’t make beautiful, edible rainbows with a pot of gold at the end on St. Patty’s Day with your kids.  It’s okay if you burn dinner and have to order out, or if you’re just too tired to even attempt to cook it.  It’s okay if you forget to send lunch money one week, or forget to send canteen money the entire month.  Who cares!!  You are a great mom!!!
 
 
 
Earlier, while wasting away my time browsing on the internet like I shouldn’t do, but always end up doing, I came across a blog that made me laugh, sigh with relief, and cry….all within a few minutes.  I knew then that I had to share it with y’all.  Go check out the Howerton family and watch the video of their adoption story.  *Warning….you may need the tissue box for this!*  I couldn’t not share this blog with all of you.  It is full of ‘real talk’, which you know I am all about, but more importantly their adoption story is purely a portrait of God and his love.
 

Happy Tuesday!!

P.S. – In case we all need a reminder (b/c I know I do)….Easter is in 12 days!  One year I almost forgot to dye eggs!  :/   I know, right!

Leave a Reply

