Answered Prayers for the Somewhat Undeserving

This morning as we transitioned from our coffee time (yes, Sassy drinks coffee) to school time, my little Sassy uttered moans and complaints.  This was the second day in a row she had complained about having to do school.  I stopped in my tracks quite disappointed, to be honest.  I told her than an education was not an option.  Without one she could never hold a good job, provide for her family, or properly care for her children and future husband.  Whether it happened at home or away at school it had to happen.  She starred at me like I was a crazy woman and then walked to the classroom to her table and sat down.  I know she loves homeschool, but I also know she is a typically, everyday kid.  But y’all…I don’t want her actions to just be typical.  As I sat down I explained to her that we needed to be thankful for school and our education that are freely allowed to have here in America.  I went on to talk about how we have been blessed with the things we need: clothing, food, water, and a roof over our heads.  I explained to her that every single other thing was a bonus blessing, so look at how much God has blessed us.  I reminded her of the homeless and parent-less in the world.  I then asked her if she thought we deserved the many blessings we’ve been given more than those people.  She sat silently for a moment and looked a bit perplexed as she thought about it.  I then broke her bubble…because I could see her five year old brain was telling her she was better than other people…I told her “NO!”.  I told her that each of us is born as a filthy, sinful being capable of good, but consumed by evil.  I explained that without Christ and what he did for us, we are nothing and we are full of sin…complaints, bad thoughts, and all.  It seemed she started to get it.  So I asked her….”What makes us better and more deserving of God’s blessings than others?”.  Her response was, “nothing…we don’t deserve it”.  “You’re exactly right!”, I said.  So many of those people living without did nothing wrong…they just got dealt a different hand than the rest of us.  I then went on talking about how our words, reactions, thoughts, and actions should always reflect the love of God and his love for us.  And complaining does NOT do that.  Complaining means we are unhappy, or disappointed about something, and we are voicing that in some manner.  I asked her if that sounded in any way like something we would do if we felt thankful.  She shook her head.  I continued on explaining to her that because we’ve been so blessed, we should be very thankful….even for the tiny things.  I could then see that she was understanding and so we got school started.  As she sat working I thanked God for that opportunity with her and for the many blessings and answered prayers we’ve had, because let’s face it…I don’t deserve it.  I had to ask God to forgive me for my complaining, too.  Humbling in itself because until a few weeks ago, I hadn’t even felt convicted about complaining.  The last few weeks I was working on not complaining, and let me tell you…when you make the conscience effort it is tough.  I don’t think we realize how much we do it.  I also asked God to give me the strength and wisdom to not complain, and to live my life in a way that ALWAYS honors Him.  I’m sure Sassy learned something from our talk this morning, but truth be told…I learned the most.

 

 

I’ve shared with you in the past that God has really been answering our prayers lately, and just like my talk with Sassy this morning, we don’t deserve it.  We have done nothing worthy of God’s grace in our lives.  But he has granted that grace to us many times.  Last week I had to go into see my Dr. for a 6 month re-check so to speak due to some results I had gotten 6 months prior.  Nothing too serious, but of course nothing like that is ever pleasant.  I’ve been a little worried about the results, and prayed for God to easy my concern and for his will to be done and that no matter what his name would be glorified through it.  At my appointment the nurse told me I would get a letter.  “Joy!”, I thought….a letter instead of a call meant I’d have to wait at least three days longer to find out the results.  I wasn’t sure if I could do it…LOL!  Well, today I checked the mail, looking for that letter, just as I had for the past four days.  There it was.  I immediately tore open the envelope, but I stopped to pray for God’s peace and will before I took out the letter.  And praise be to God the results were negative and everything is fine!  I couldn’t help but think back to that conversation this morning.  Why had God answered my prayer?  I didn’t deserve that.  But what a sweet reminder of how awesome and loving our God is.  I am so thankful that he answers prayers even for the undeserving.

 

Happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

