Updates

First of all, sorry I’ve been away for so long!  We had no internet for a couple of days…no fun!  However, it is back up and running and so am I.  Today we are on Day 5 of Praying for your Husband.  I hope that is going well for everyone!

A while back I posted on menu planning and how I’ve gotten into that.  Well, I just wanted to let you know that we are LOVING it!!  It is so nice to just pull out that folder and see what we are having each day.  It helps me to feel prepared, and to actually be prepared.  Of course sometimes we have switch things around a bit, but that is the nice thing about menu planning.  You can make those changes, but you don’t forget about that meal you didn’t end up cooking last week.  Every time we forget about a meal we were going to make, we end up losing money, esp. if it involves fresh ingredients.  Tonight’s menu in the Kees household consists of pot roast, potatoes, mashed potatoes or rice (haven’t decided yet…don’t judge me!) and gravy, and green beans.  If I’m feeling spunky later I’ll add cornbread to the mix.  🙂  Menu planning has made my life so much easier!  The best part for me is that I always have what I need for the day!

Thursday morning I leave with a great group of women to head to Texas for MOPS convention!  I am very excited!  I’ve never been before, but I’ve heard some great things about it.  I’ve been told it’s the most moms in capri pants you’ll ever see in one place.  LOL!!  I’m very excited about all the things we are going to learn and bring back to our group of moms for our new year!  So if you don’t hear from me for 4 days…that is why.  So please be in prayer for us as we travel, and pray that we go in with open minds and hearts to what is going to be taught.

Also, I want to share this post with ya’ll.  I found this article to be so fitting for me right now.  My family and I will begin our new school year next Monday, on the 13th.  I am nervous and very excited!  However, most of all, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what I want my daughter to learn and take from homeschooling.  And I’ve spent a lot of time in prayer about how God would guide me to teach and lead her, in order to show her those things he desires her to learn amid all of this schooling.  I hope ya’ll can enjoy it as much as I did.

Oh, I almost forgot to let you in on some new family info.  We have decided to sell our home, and purchase land.  We want to get everything that we can paid off, and save big so that we can build our home.  We don’t have plans to build anything extravagant, but we do want to build something we can grow into, but also grow old in.  We have a lot to do before we get there, but we hope to refinance our current home to save until we can sell, and then of course we have to actually deal with selling our home, then getting the land and whatever we choose to live in for the duration until we build something.  It may be ten years from now that we actually get into a new, custom built home, but we are definitely looking to the future and praying about it all.  This is a huge step for us, and quite scary since we have no experience in any of these areas, but we have faith that God will guide us and work it all out.  So please be in prayer for us, and I will keep you updated.  Our goal in all of this is to be debt free.  We want to rid ourselves of current debt, and be able to pay cash for the home we build.  We do realize we may not have all the cash we need when we build, but we will have at least 50% of the cost saved, so that we can pay down a mortgage very quickly.  We want to be able to free ourselves and our finances to be able to work for God, to give more to others, to go on mission trips, or to do whatever it may be God calls our family to do.

Thanks for reading, and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

